When I first heard about the Color Me Rad 5K, I was all for it. Then I got caught up in other things and before I knew it, the event was sold out. Bummer. Luckily, I came across an awesome person that had 2 tickets, so I grabbed them. Anyone over 7, had to pay for a ticket, so I asked Ashleigh if she would want to do it and of course she said yes! Under 7 ran for free, so that meant Addy and Coop got to come along and enjoy the fun. If I would have had a jogging stroller handy, I would have taken Bean too!

On Friday, I went to pick up our race packet. The packet included our bib #’s, Color Me Rad t-shirts (for after you get all cleaned up), and sun glasses. Friday was also the day we saw the first signs of Sandy. Really, no sun until Wednesday? Bring on the depression. I was so worried it would rain on race day, so I bought cheap ponchos for Paul and the Bean so they wouldn’t get soaked while waiting for us.

We got up early today…like 6:30am which is early for me LOL The got ready and headed on over to the Walnut Creek Amphitheater. Traffic was a little backed up but nothing like I thought it was going to be. We parked and walked into the start area and said good-bye to Paul and Bean. No rain so far!

They were shooting off color bombs (colored cornstarch) but Ashleigh wanted no part in it…she wanted to race! If I didn’t get her into that line, the world was going to end. So we lined up and got ready to run. Well more like slow walking since everyone was sorta crammed into one area. By the time the crowds dispersed, a color bombing station would be up ahead, and that meant that it got crowded again. Everyone wants that color! This race is for fun people, so if you are looking for a professional 5K, look elsewhere.

The kids did a fantastic job. Addy only made a few whimpers/complaints, but I didn’t have to carry her to the finish and that means everything! Once we neared the finish, they were handing out more color bombs that we could all throw around on ourselves. Amazingly I noticed Paul, so I flagged him down to get a pic of us finishing…poor Addy was behind Ash in the picture though.

We finished! Yay! I want to say it took about 40 minutes from start to finish and that was with a lot of stopping to get color bombed. If my car runs out of gas, these kids could totally run to the gas station a few miles up the road for me and be back in no time LOL Bonus, at least for me, it never rained!

Since we didn’t use the ponchos for rain, we wrapped the kids up in them for the trip home to save the car from a colorful disaster. Once home, Operation Clean-up commenced. I was slightly concerned my face would be permanently green and hat the kids would look like permanent rainbows, but it all came off.

It was such a great time and I can’t wait to do it again. This is a great race for the entire family and benefits local charities!! Next one up is Greensboro, NC 3/2013…who’s in????

Here is the link to more of our pics. Enjoy!

https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.4112534446581.167358.1079757931&type=1&l=9768a376ea